Un anneau a été trouvé dans une bouilloire électrique qui a été donnée récemment.
Composez
le 613-732-7776 pour l’identifier.

Clicker ici pour savoir plus!


Bienvenue à la maison Bernadette McCann House

 FOCUS Accreditation accorde une accréditation de quatre ans à la maison Bernadette McCann House for Women.

FOCUS Accreditation est heureuse d'annoncer qu'elle a approuvé la demande d'accréditation de la maison Bernadette McCann House for Women. La période d'accréditation s'étend de novembre 2012 à novembre 2016.

La maison Bernadette McCann House for Women est le premier refuge pour femmes avec services de soutien à être accrédité au Canada. En choisissant d'être accréditée par FOCUS Accreditation, la maison Bernadette McCann s'est volontairement soumise à une rigoureuse évaluation externe, preuve de son engagement à améliorer la qualité de ses services et à offrir des services de manière efficace et conforme aux pratiques exemplaires.

L'information recueillie avant et durant la validation sur place démontre clairement que la maison Bernadette McCann respecte ou dépasse la plupart des normes établies par FOCUS. Ses réalisations comprennent :

  •  Un leadership et une gouvernance réputés
  • Un personnel engagé et professionnel
  • Des services qui répondent aux besoins de la collectivité et des clientes
  • De solides liens communautaires
  • Des activités internes efficientes et efficaces

« Nous sommes extrêmement reconnaissantes à la collectivité de sa réaction, comme l'indique la rétroaction des 55 utilisatrices des services, des 32 partenaires communautaires, du Ministère ainsi que du conseil d'administration, du personnel et des bénévoles de l'organisation. »

« Des relations saines créent des familles saines, et les familles saines créent des collectivités saines. » Leigh Sweeney, directrice exécutive, Bernadette McCann House

« Une organisation qui satisfait aux normes de FOCUS peut être considérée comme une organisation axée sur les personnes qu'elle sert et sur la prestation de services de grande qualité. »

Jennifer Keilty, directrice exécutive, FOCUS Accreditation

 

L'ORGANISATION EN BREF

La maison Bernadette McCann House for Women a pour mission d'offrir un hébergement sécuritaire d'urgence à un maximum de 16 femmes et enfants, ainsi qu'un soutien individuel et de groupe, une planification de sécurité, une sensibilisation à la maltraitance ainsi que des ressources qui donnent l'espoir d'une vie meilleure.

Le programme de soutien et d'éducation communautaire cherche à tirer parti des forces des femmes et respecte leurs choix. Celles-ci sont encouragées à participer activement à la définition et l'évaluation des services qu'elles reçoivent et à déterminer elles-mêmes leurs objectifs. Les bureaux satellites situés un peu partout dans le comté de Renfrew servent Pembroke, Renfrew, Arnprior, Killaloe, Petawawa et les régions environnantes.

Les services aux enfants comprennent un groupe appelé Growing Together (Grandir ensemble), qui enseigne aux enfants de nouvelles façons de maîtriser leurs sentiments et de faire face aux comportements qui font surface dans les familles maltraitées. Ce groupe est censé aider les enfants à développer leur estime de soi, à rompre l'isolement de la maltraitance et à promouvoir le processus de guérison pour les enfants et leurs parents. Les services comprennent également des séances individuelles avec les enfants et les jeunes, où ils discutent de sujets tels que la violence dans les fréquentations, leurs sentiments, etc.

Des groupes et des ateliers sont également offerts aux femmes tout au long de l'année à différents endroits dans le comté de Renfrew. Des membres du personnel sont disponibles pour présenter des exposés dans la collectivité, au sujet non seulement de nos services mais aussi des mauvais traitements infligés aux femmes, aux enfants, aux adolescents et aux aînés.

La maison Bernadette McCann est régie par un conseil d'administration bénévole et reçoit 95 % de ses fonds par l'entremise du ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires et du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse. Les 5 % qui restent proviennent des dons de la collectivité et des droits d'adhésion.

La maison emploie 20 employés à plein temps soutenus par un personnel de relève. Ses services sont également appuyés par une équipe de bénévoles dévoués, qui apportent un vaste éventail de compétences à ses programmes.

La maison Bernadette McCann procède à une planification stratégique annuelle. Ses objectifs actuels comprennent :

  • des présentations / ateliers interactifs;
  • la technologie et son impact sur ses services;
  • l'agrandissement des locaux et les problèmes d'espace;
  • la participation des hommes.

La maison Bernadette McCann peut faire appel à des interprètes et fera tous les efforts possibles pour vous aider. Elle emploie du personnel francophone et offre un programme d'approche communautaire.

Aucun secteur ne peut à lui seul faire face à la complexité de la maltraitance ni répondre aux besoins des victimes. Une intervention communautaire concertée est donc essentielle.

Bernadette McCann House provides critical services, safety and support to women, children and youth, who are experiencing abuse-related crisis or coping with the after effects of abuse.
There is no fee for this service.

If you require the safety of a shelter, or immediate support,
Please call our 24hr. confidential
help lines at


1-800-267-4930 or 613-732-3131


Welcome to Bernadette McCann House

 
 Bernadette McCann House for Women Achieves Four Year Accreditation Through FOCUS Accreditation.   
 
FOCUS Accreditation is pleased to announce that Bernadette McCann House for Women has been successful in its bid to be accredited. Accreditation extends from November 2012 until November 2016.

Bernadette McCann House for Women is the first Women’s Shelter & Support Services organization in Canada to be accredited. By electing to be accredited by FOCUS Accreditation, Bernadette McCann House for Women has voluntarily undertaken a rigorous external evaluation. This demonstrates a commitment to improving the quality of services they provide, and for offering services effectively and in a manner that meets best practice.

The information collected before and during the on-site validation clearly demonstrated that Bernadette McCann House for Women met or exceeded most of the standards established by FOCUS. Some of their achievements include:

  •    Highly regarded leadership and governance
  •    A committed and professional staff team
  •    Services that address the needs of both the community and the women who use them
  •    Strong connections in the community
  •     Effective and efficient internal operations

“We are extremely grateful with the response from the Community, involving feedback from 55 service users, 32 Community Partners, the Ministry, as well as Board, Staff and Volunteers within the organization

"Healthy relationships create healthy families, and healthy families create healthy communities."       Leigh Sweeney-Executive Director- Bernadette McCann House

 “An organization that meets FOCUS standards can be viewed as an organization that focuses on the people it serves, and on high quality service delivery”

Jennifer Keilty-Executive Director- FOCUS Accreditation

  

 Brief Overview

The Residential Program known as Bernadette McCann House for Women is dedicated to providing safe, emergency accommodation for up to 16 women and children, offering individual and group support, safety planning, education on abuse, and resources that give hope for a better way of life.

The Community Support and Outreach Program attempts to build on women’s strength and is respectful of women’s choices. Women are encouraged to be actively involved in the process of defining and evaluating the service they receive, and to take the lead in determining their goals. Outreach offices are located throughout Renfrew County serving Pembroke, Renfrew, Arnprior, Killaloe, Petawawa, and surrounding areas.

Services for children include a group called Growing Together, offering support by helping children learn new ways of coping with their feelings and behaviours that arise in families that have experienced abuse. This group is designed to help children build self esteem, to break the isolation of abuse, and to promote the healing process for children and their parents. Services also include one-to-one with Children & Youth, discussing topics such as dating violence, feelings etc.

In addition, groups and workshops are available to women throughout the year, and in different locations across Renfrew County. Staff is available to provide presentations in the community, not only about our services, but on the issue of abuse as it relates to women, children, youth, and elders.

Bernadette McCann House is governed by a Volunteer Board of Directors, and receives 95% of its funding through the Ministry of Community & Social Services and the Ministry of Children & Youth Services.  The remaining 5% is accrued through community donations and membership fees.

Bernadette McCann House employs 20 full time employees and a compliment of relief staff. In addition, our services are supported by a dedicated team of volunteers, who contribute a broad range of skills to our programs.

Bernadette McCann House engages in yearly Strategic Planning. Current goals include:

  • Interactive Workshops / Presentations
  • Technology & How does it Impact our Service
  • Physical Expansion / Space Issues
  • Male Involvement

At Bernadette McCann House for Women interpreters may be arranged, and every effort will be made to assist you,  Francophone staff are available to clients within the Shelter, as well as our Community Outreach Program.

No single sector is responsible or able to respond to the complexity of abuse and the needs of those who experience abuse. Consequently, a coordinated community response is essential.

 
Learn More
   
Teen Zone
Check out some information and links ... more
   

   
FAQ
Read some of our most frequently asked questions... more
   

   
Shelter Wish List
Your continued support is necessary to meet the needs of the Women and Children we serve in Renfrew County... more
   

   
Photo Galleries
View photos of the Shelter and some of our events... more